Yusuf picks Ezenwa, Odey, Ayagwa for clash with Squirrels of Benin

0 4

Home-Based Eagles coach, Salisu Yusuf yesterday released the names of players who have made the team that will face the Squirrels of Benin Republic on Sunday in the first leg of the CHAN 2018 qualifying match in Cotonu.

Nigeria vs CongoHe settled for the usual suspects as he picked captain of the team,  Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Orji Kalu, Osas Okoro, Raphael Ayagwa ,Alhassan Ibrahim , Ifeanyi Ifeanyi, Stephen Odey Ifeanyi George, and 12 other players.

The remaining twelve players are goalkeepers Dele Ajiboye and Theophilus Afelokhai, Chima Akas, Rabiu Ali, Thomas Zenke, Ariwachukwu Emmanuel, Stephen Eze, Nasiru Sani, Hafiz Aremu, Samuel Mathias, Sikiru Olatubosun and Kingsley Eduwo complete the list

Also Read:  2019/2020 EPL Fixtures Released, With Mouth Watering Opening Ties [Full Pairings]

An barring last minutes changes the team will fly from Kano to Lagos today from where they would complete the short journey to Cotonou by road.

Meanwhile, coach Yusuf told Daily Trust yesterday that the players who made the final list had shown enough capacity to do the job against the squirrels of Benin Republic.

He said those who did not make the team this time still have a chance to make the squad in the return leg as he said he would continue to tinker with the team until he arrives at a formidable squad.

“We are set to hit Cotonu for the match against Squirrels. I have already released the list of players we shall be taking to Benin Republic.

Also Read:  NFF unveils Oliseh as Super Eagles coach

“They showed outstanding abilities and I am confident they will not disappoint on Sunday,” he said.

The return leg will hold at the Sani Abacha Stadium, Kano on Saturday, 19th August. The winner of the double header will qualify for the fifth edition of the Africa Nations Championship billed for Kenya in 2018.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.