W/Cup Qualifier: Kenya Delegation To Arrive Lagos Thursday —NFF

A 25-man delegation of the Harambee Stars of Kenya will arrive Lagos aboard Kenyan Airways enroute Calabar on Thursday afternoon.

Ademola Olajire, Assistant Director (Media) of Nigeria Football Federation, NFF, said in a statement Monday that Alhaji Omar Sey of The Gambia, the Match Commissioner for the World Cup qualifier, will arrive Nigeria on Wednesday, same day the referees from Botswana are expected in town.

World football governing body, FIFA has appointed Patrick Beckles from Barbados as Security Officer for Saturday’s showdown at the UJ Esuene Stadium in Calabar.

It will be recalled that FIFA had earlier appointed Joshua Bondo from Botswana as referee, with his compatriots Meshack Medupi, Moemedi Monakwane and Kutlwano Leso as Assistant Referee 1, Assistant Referee 2 and the Fourth Official respectively. Richard Mbaku-Fonjah from Cameroon will be the Referee Assessor.

Also Read:  Sports Minister Calls for Re-Organisation of sports administration

Meanwhile, Harambee Stars Coach Adel Amrouche has named a 19-man squad that will travel to Nigeria for the Eagles match.

According to Michezoafrika.com, Amrouche dropped 11 players from the initial squad among them AFC Leopards striker Allan Wanga, Gor Mahia’s Mungai Kiongera, Rama Salim, Kelvin Omondi, Sofapaka skipper James Situma, Collins Kisuya, Tusker’s duo of Peter Opiyo and Boniface Oluoch, Eugene Asike and Bob Mugalia.

Late call up Jacob Kelli who has been in hot form for his club KCB made the final list. Kelli has impressed Amrouche in the four games KCB has played, scoring three goals.

Another late call up who makes the list is Tusker FC defender, Mark Odhiambo, who joined the Ruaraka outfit in January.

Also Read:  Enyeama listed for BBC Footballer of the Year award

Kenya Squad

Goalkeepers: Arnold Origi, Duncan Ochieng

Defenders: Abdalla Juma, David Owino, Brian Mandela, Mark Odhiambo, David Ochieng, George Owino, Mulinge James

Midfielders: Victor Mugubi, Jamal Mohammed, David Gateri, Paul Were, Francis Kahata, Johanna Omollo

Strikers: Edwin Lavasta, Christian Bwamy, Dennis Oliech, Jacob Keli

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.