2019Election: INEC Declares Buhari Winner

0 2

The Nigeria Presient, Muhammadu Buhari has been declared winner for the 2019 general election held on the 23rd of February.

Announcing the result, the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission Mahmood Yakubu, declared that Buhari pulled 15, 191, 847 against his closed challenger from the opposition, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party who cleared 11, 262, 978 votes.

Buhari and Atiku
Buhari and Atiku

Speaking, Mahmood said “I, Professor Mahmood Yakubu hereby certify that I was the returning officer for the election held on the 23rd of February, 2019.

“That Muhammadu Buhari having satisfied the requirements of the law, having scored the highest number of votes is hereby returned elected.”

Also Read:  Tinubu, Saraki, Amaechi’s phones have been bugged - APC

The INEC Chairman also assured that Certificate of Return will be issued to No 1 later today at 2pm.

The election was mainly between a 76 years old retired military dictator and a former Vice President of Nigeria.

The election declaration returns Mr Buhari to office after a rigorous political campaign across the nation.

Realizing that the party has lost to Buhari, the PDP announced its rejection of the result, saying the election was marred with many irregularities and manipulation of figures.

The PDP urged the INEC to discontinue the announcement and order a rerun.

However, the ruling party challenged the PDP, described its call for cancellation “an antic” to stop the Commission from completing the process.

Also Read:  Court sacks APC legislator in Edo

In truth, there were election violence reported across the nation with many losing their lives, ballot box set on fire and some whisked away in Lagos, Kano, Kogi, Zamfara, Rivers State, Ogun State, Anambra and other states.

According to findings, over 47 Nigerians lost their lives, according to over 70 civil society who petitioned the international court.

Despite the violence, Buhari won in 19 states which secured him the statutory requirement of 25 percent of votes cast in 24 or more of the 36 states.

Areas No 1 won are: Kaduna, Jigawa, Niger, Yobe, Gombe, Kogi, Nasarawa, Kwara, Osun, Ekiti, Bauchi, Lagos, Ogun, Kano, Katsina, Borno, Sokoto, Kebbi, and Zamfara states.

Also Read:  Former Ogun State Governor, Gbenga Daniel, Dismissed from Labour Party

Abubakar triumph in 17 states including the Capital terorritory, Abuja. The states he won are: Anambra, Ebonyi, Enugu, Abia, Ondo, Adamawa, Taraba, Oyo, Edo, Benue, Imo, Plateau, Cross River, Akwa Ibom, Delta, Bayelsa, Rivers, and the FCT.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.