Women slump as court remands 29 cult suspects

Women slump as court remands 29 cult suspects

Ilorin – Two women on Tuesday slumped at an Ilorin Magistrates’ Court when the court ordered that all the 29 suspected cultists brought before it be remanded in prison.

The women slumped in separate incidents when the accused were being led into the prison van parked at the court’s  premises.

The accused were recently arrested at Eiyenkorin area of  Ilorin after allegedly initiating  new members.

The police prosecutor, Insp  Nasiru Yusuf, had  told the court that the accused were arraigned on a two-count charge of criminal conspiracy and belonging to a  secret cult.

He said the offences were contrary to Section  97 of the Penal Code in conjunction with Kwara State Legal Notes No.3 of  2010.

Also Read:  We did not Rape, Touch Abducted Girls, Kidnap Kingpin Confesses

Yusuf also objected to the bail of the accused on the ground that the alleged offences were not ordinarily bailable.

The prosecutor listed the accused to include  Olatunbosun Aree, Lekan Yemi, Bamidele Segun, Fatahi Wahab, Amodu Abdulrahim, Ajide Olalere, Jamiu Bamidele, Sodiq Mohammed, Olarewaju Ganiyu, Olatunji Emmanuel and Saka Safi.

Others,  according to Yusuf,  are  Oyewale Anuoluwapo, Olaitan Oganji, Sulu Isah, Abdulganiyu Kazeem, Isiaka Sanusi, Ismail Kareem, Ajayi Jacob, Saliu Gafar, Fatahi Ismail and Ahmed Lawal.

Moshood Raman, Salam Lukman, Tope Atolagbe, Kunle Olalekan, Olayinka Tolu, Mohammed Ibrahim, Alimi Ibrahim and Yahaya Umar were also listed.

The defence counsel, Ayinde Obadofin,  applied for the bail of the accused persons on  liberal terms.

Also Read:  2015: Northern governors can’t stop Jonathan – Clark

He submitted that section 36 subsections 5 of the Penal Code presume the accused innocent until contrary was  proved.

The Magistrate, Mr  Mohammed Ibrahim, however,  ordered that the accused be remanded in Mondala Prison Yard, Ilorin.

He adjourned the case to Sept. 11 for mention. (NAN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.