Naija Center News
Nigerian Newspapers, Naija News & Naija Politics

Jonathan approves 25 judges to be promoted as Justice of appeal court

0 5

President Goodluck Jonathan has approved the elevation of 25 judges selected from High Courts across the country for appointment as justices of the Court of Appeal.

The new justices of the nation’s appellate court, whose elevation was announced about two weeks ago by the National Judicial Council (NJC), are to be sworn-in by the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Aloma Mukhtar.(CJN) on March 24, 2014 at 12 noon in the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

The President’s approval of their appointment now brings the number of justices of the Court of Appeal to 90 from 70.

NJC’s Acting Director, Information, Soji Oye said, in a statement Monday, that the elevation of the judges followed NJC’s recommendation, which is in line with the new Court of Appeal (Amendment) Act, which increased the number of justices of the court from 70 to 90.

He said their elevation was also informed by the vacancies “occasioned by the demise, retirement and elevation of some justices of the court to the Supreme Court.”

The affected judges include Justices Bolokuromo M. Ugo (Bayelsa State), Biobele A. Georgewill  (Rivers State), Oludotun A. Adefope-Okojie (Ogun State), Misitura O. Bolaji-Yusuf   (Oyo State), J.O.K.Oyewole (Osun State) and O.E. Williams-Dawudu  (Lagos State)

Others include Justices Hamma Akawu Barka (Gombe State), Joseph Jude Jella (Taraba State), Bitrus G. Sanga (Bauchi State), Muhammed Mustapha (Borno State),Yargata Nimpar (Gombe State), Sa’idu Tanko Hussein (Kogi State), Mudashiru N. Oniyangi (Kwara State) and Amina Audi Wambai  (Niger State).

Also affected are Justices Ridwan Maiwada Abdullahi (Nasarawa State), Tani Y. Hassan (Kano State), Muhammed Lawal Shuaibu  (Jigawa State), Kadi Musa Hassan Alkali (Kaduna State), Jamilu Y. Tukur (Katsina State), Paul Obi Elechi (Ebonyi State), Ugochukwu A. Ogakwu (Enugu State), Nonyerem Okoronkwo (Imo State), Joseph E. Ekanem (Akwa Ibom State), F.E. Oho (Delta State), Abimbola O.O. Adejumo (Edo State).


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy