Naija Center News
Nigerian Newspapers, Naija News & Naija Politics

INEC Declares APC Winner Of Bayelsa Guber Poll

0 7

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC has formally announced the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), David Lyon as winner of the Bayelsa governorship election.

Lyon defeated Douye Diri, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in six out of eight locals government areas of the state.

The APC polled 352,552 while PDP secured 143,170 votes, leaving a margin of 209,382.
This is the first time an opposition party would win a governorship election in the oil-rich state since the return of democracy in 1999.

The state, which was created in 1996, has always been governed by the PDP.
Below are the scores from each local government area as announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at the state collation centre in Yenagoa.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy